Page 3 of 3

Re: OpenCL plans & details

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:01 am
by Bitweasil
Bitweasil wrote:Update:

Found a major bug in how I'm handing odd password lengths, to the point that odd password lengths are being done "totally wrong."

I need to fix this before I throw out a beta... :)


Further update:

I'm an idiot.

Before copying a small number of bytes into a uint64_t pointer, one may wish to set the memory at the pointer to zero first.

Values hanging out in the high order bytes you aren't copying into matter. A LOT.

The good news: My generate code is actually solid. Awesome.
The annoying news: I just spent 90 minutes tracking down a bug in my "table verify" code due to not having the memset in place. GRAGH.

Better than the few hours I spent trying to figure out weird data corruption when opening binary files in Windows with the "r" or "w" flags instead of "rb" or "wb"...

Anyway, I'm more confident in my code integrity now, and that it's doing the correct thing, so as soon as I finish adding NTLM support to the OpenCL cracking tools and verifying those, I should be ready to throw out a beta. It's less useful with MD5 only right now... :) NTLM is half done.

Re: OpenCL plans & details

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 12:09 pm
by Byte/\Puker
Hi Bitweasil

updated my computer: :) :)

Now,

1x HD5770
2x HD6970 (only 1 in the computer, because I#m not sure with the power supply)
2x HD6990 (only 1 in the computer, because I#m not sure with the power supply)

I hope your OpenCL version will support all my cards, maybe I can help you with the HD6990 support ;)

Another question, is a 1250W OCZ ZX series power supply enough or not ?

Byte/\Puker

Re: OpenCL plans & details

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 3:22 pm
by Sc00bz
108 + 250 * 2 + 375 * 2 = 1,358 so definitely no.

Re: OpenCL plans & details

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:42 pm
by Byte/\Puker
Thx for your explaination Sc00bz, :)

So for a 1000W power supply this config would be okay: 3x250W(6970) + 1x108W(5770) = 858W ?

So if I want to use the other config I need 1358W. Can I connect a 1000W- with a 750W power supply? And if this is possible how to connect these two power supplies?

I heard that the HD6990 needs up to 567W: "http://www.computerbase.de/artikel/grafikkarten/2011/test-amd-radeon-hd-6990/25/". When this is correct your explaination would be wrong :(

Re: OpenCL plans & details

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:42 pm
by blazer
http://www.hardocp.com/news/2011/07/27/ ... one_system

Get something like whats shown in the link.

Allows you to chain up ur PSUs ;) and trigger start them up together.

Re: OpenCL plans & details

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 2:19 pm
by Sc00bz
You need to account for powering CPU, motherboard, memory, and hard drives. Also you should leave some room so the power supply is not running at 100% all the time.

You missed the part in red at the top of http://www.computerbase.de/artikel/graf ... d-6990/25/ "Gemessen wird die Gesamt-Leistungsaufnahme des Testsystems." and translated "Measures the total power consumption of the test system."

I got the power consumptions from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison ... sing_units

Re: OpenCL plans & details

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:09 pm
by Byte/\Puker
Sc00bz wrote:You need to account for powering CPU, motherboard, memory, and hard drives. Also you should leave some room so the power supply is not running at 100% all the time.

You missed the part in red at the top of http://www.computerbase.de/artikel/graf ... d-6990/25/ "Gemessen wird die Gesamt-Leistungsaufnahme des Testsystems." and translated "Measures the total power consumption of the test system."

I got the power consumptions from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison ... sing_units


Thank you Sc00bz, my mistake.

Re: OpenCL plans & details

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:02 pm
by Bitweasil
Sc00bz wrote:You need to account for powering CPU, motherboard, memory, and hard drives. Also you should leave some room so the power supply is not running at 100% all the time.


There are certain power supplies rated for "continuous power" output - those are theoretically good for rated power at 100% of the time.

In general, though, 80% is a good cap.