Page 1 of 1

Does CUDA work on console only?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:51 pm
by crazydoc
Hello!

I´m running the CUDA multiforcer under Ubuntu 8.10 without problems. While running in a console window at the desktop, it reports

Code: Select all
GPU: 9600GT
Cores: 64
Clock: 1.6 GHz


and everything works as expected.

When I try to run the program in pure console mode (no X), it reports

Code: Select all
GPU: 9600GT
Cores: 128
Clock: 1.26 GHz


and it does NOT work anymore. Error message: Cannot initialize .... blabla

First question: Why are the cores doubled without X?
Second question: How can I make CUDA work in pure console mode?

P.S.: I am dealing with hash computing/cracking a long time, and i have to say that the idea to use parallelized GPU power for this is really, really great. :D

Re: Does CUDA work on console only?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:46 pm
by crazydoc
crazydoc wrote:Hello!

I´m running the CUDA multiforcer under Ubuntu 8.10 without problems. While running in a console window at the desktop, it reports

Code: Select all
GPU: 9600GT
Cores: 64
Clock: 1.6 GHz


and everything works as expected.

When I try to run the program in pure console mode (no X), it reports

Code: Select all
GPU: 9600GT
Cores: 128
Clock: 1.26 GHz


and it does NOT work anymore. Error message: Cannot initialize .... blabla

First question: Why are the cores doubled without X?
Second question: How can I make CUDA work in pure console mode?

P.S.: I am dealing with hash computing/cracking a long time, and i have to say that the idea to use parallelized GPU power for this is really, really great. :D


Hmmm, cannot reproduce the faulty behaviour. Now it runs in pure console and reports the same number of cores as under X. Strange.

Re: Does CUDA work on console only?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 9:21 pm
by Bitweasil
Interesting.

What driver revision are you running? It should be the same in both places.

Re: Does CUDA work on console only?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:23 pm
by crazydoc
I'm using 64bit Ubuntu 8.10 with nvidia-driver-177.82. I have not downloaded the CUDA stuff mentioned somewhere in the "HowTo". Worked out-of-the-box.

But as I mentioned above, error is not reproduceable, no matter how hard I try.